The Last Inch

Some people will accept the time you give them.

Others will try to take as much as they can.

Some may try to hold on so tight that you feel suffocated.

I ask those people, “Please. Stop.

Let me stay of my own free will.

 

I can’t breathe.”

 

He thinks he know me.

Knows my thoughts.

Tells me what I am thinking. 

All words that gratify his ego. 

All words that stamp out my voice.

 

Little does he know,

The tighter you bind,

The less there is to hold on to. 

 

So, what do you think?

