Bad to good-Thanks Michelle.

So, I walked away feeling utterly defeated by a failed interview. (I despise you Power Point. ) To help heal the wound Microsoft created, I headed for the Lord & Taylor perfume department. I was almost giddy. I saw some old friends and made a new one.
Beautiful Coco was there. Deep, and luxurious. She is truly an old friend. I remember that I purchased my first bottle at the age of 19. My first out-of-budget buy at Selfridge’s (my favourite perfume department ever). I love this scent so much that it inspired a class project where we had to take a smell and represent it physically. I chose to show Coco as an opulent scarf of silks and velvets with vanilla pods sewn in. It was a lot of work but well worth it.
When I first walked into the store I was looking for Fracas. Nothing compares. I was informed by the wonderful woman behind the counter that L&T do not carry it. Incroyable! (Some times a little Frenchman pops into my head) However, she challenged me to try a new scent. She introduced me to Narciso Rodriguez for her Classic and New. I have not made up my mind on either of them.
What I was impressed with was her knowledge of scent materials. This woman knew her stuff and she wasnt against mixing two utterly different perfumes (Narciso Rodriguez and Elie Saab le parfum). We spent 10 wonderful minutes discussing perfumes and our love for them. I suggested she read The Perfect Scent by Chandler Burr. Great book about the perfume industry.
That bad interview was just the reason I needed to meet a kindred spirit. If you are ever in New York, visit Michelle at the Chanel perfume counter in Lord & Taylor. You will know you made the right choice when you lay down your cash and walk out smelling like a million bucks.

So, what do you think?

